The Japanese American Medical Association (JAMA), a professional organization of physicians based in Los Angeles, is pleased to offer a scholarship for medical students in their first, second and third year. The JAMA Scholarship of $5000 is awarded annually based on the applicant’s academic achievement, financial need, and interest in serving the Japanese American community. JAMA initiated the scholarship in 2007 and has awarded 25 recipients since its inception.

Selection Process: In the fall of each year, the medical schools in California post the scholarship information for their medical students. Additional announcements are published in the Rafu Shimpo Japanese Community Newspaper. Scholarship application forms are forwarded to applicants that include at least one letter of recommendation, a typewritten essay how their past experiences, present activities and future aspirations relate to the Mission Statement and history of JAMA, and, lastly a current medical school transcript. The deadline for completed applications is in mid-January of the following year. In early February, the Selection Committee assesses in a blinded process the individual applications.  Awardee(s) are notified thereafter and encouraged to attend the Spring Banquet to accept their awards and be recognized by the organization.

Please contact Gordon H. Sasaki,MD, chairperson for the JAMA Scholarship Selection Committee for further information at

Download the JAMA Scholarship Application HERE!

Accepting Scholarship Donations!

We appreciate your interest in supporting JAMA scholarships! If you would like to donate to the scholarship or if you would like to become a corporate sponsor and be featured on our page, please send donations to:

Dr. Lisa Oki
2925 N. Sycamore Dr, suite 101
Simi Valley, CA 93065

Make checks payable to JAMA

Brian Itagaki, Juka Kim (2023 scholarship recipient), Barry Goy
Brian Itagaki, Juka Kim (2023 scholarship recipient), Barry Goy
B. Goy, G. Sasaki, B. Itagaki, Marie Luff (2022 winner), S. Iwata, Kotaro Tsutsumi (2020 winner), E. Sumi
B. Goy, G. Sasaki, B. Itagaki, Marie Luff (2022 winner), S. Iwata, Kotaro Tsutsumi (2020 winner), E. Sumi

Previous JAMA scholarship recipients

  • 2023  Juka Kim
  • 2022  Marie Luff
  • 2020  Kotaro Tsutsumi
  • 2019  Cora Ormseth
  • 2018  Erika Esther Morikawa
  • 2017  Masumi George Asahi
  • 2016  Allison Kazumi Ikeda
  • 2016  Christopher Yuki Itoh
  • 2016  Kyohei Itamura
  • 2015  Noah Masahiko Kojima
  • 2015  Pricilla N. Santiago
  • 2014  Jeffrey Tomoya Fujimoto
  • 2014  Michael Hurley
  • 2013  Keisuke Nakagawa
  • 2013  Marin Nishimura
  • 2012  Yuri Cheung
  • 2011  Jason Nagata
  • 2010  Aimee Sato
  • 2010  Nanae Takatori
  • 2009  Yousuke Horikawa
  • 2009  Yohko Murakami
  • 2009  Dean Sasaki
  • 2008  Kenta Nakamura
  • 2008  Iris Otani
  • 2007  Maiko Shiota
  • 2007  Marc Uemura